Mushy and Sloshy

Let me key you in on the background when this post was written -

Yesterday, i watched 2 movies. I forgot the first one's name (a nice guy died in it), and the other was Sweet November(the girl has cancer). I'm usually only jobless enough to catch one movie, but yesterday was an exception. And today, i borrowed a book ( "The Gift" by Danielle Steel) from a good friend and had a nice time reading it.

I think you can get what i'm driving at - Yep! Major emotional overload!

I'm a sucker for feel good emotional stories, and if there's a death of some loveable character, which there usually is, my eyes get all leaky. The first time that i can remember myself reel crying is for Lion King, when Mufasa dies. And then it continued with films like baazigar, Forrest Gump, Kal ho na ho, and so many others. If you ask me, i'd say that Shahrukh has perfected the art of dying! Same with books. I mourned pretty badly when Beth died in Little Women, and DANIELLE STEEL! She writes the ultimate tear jerkers, and how beautifully too.

Although i like to feel the feeling, it can get nightmarish at times when some buffalo skinned people sit next to you, always trying to gauge your reaction :( One drop, and you'll never hear the end of it. I've tried so many methods - Acting like something got in my eye, turning away from the bully, lowering the head, drinking water and pretending to have spilt it on my face, and what not! But the red eye, and the slighly enlarged nose are dead giveaways :(

Is it a gender thing? I think i may have caught my brother sniffling once or twice, so i'm not all that sure. I guess most guys think it is uncool to admit that they can bawl as well.

OK. From now onwards i'm just going to pretend that i'm not mortified if someone catches me sobbing over some book or movie. If i'm attacked, i'll just try to put forward my case of fundamental right to reel crying :)

Comments

  1. hey vinee...interesting post. i think u have a valid point - men wont admit if something really touches them. or is this a family thing? coz i jst finished bawling over Schindler's List. u know what? dont worry abt it. if something touches you so much that it brings tears, let it show. but pls! for god's sake dont waste it on DS! read more wholesome stuff...like Erich Segal?

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey! You read my blog :) truly honoured. Right now, i can't help "wasting my tears" on DS :), maybe i'll outgrow it, don't know. But thanks for the suggestion, i'll surely try Erich Segal :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  4. hey ur blog is really so totally coooooool
    i luved it please keep updating it more often

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hey! welcome aboard :) glad you liked it. I hope you realized who the good friend was ;)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I try to portray that I can handle most situations without crying but ofcourse I have cried over movies, profusely at times. I guess for me its been relatively difficult to control the emotional display when I'm watching a movie all by my own as opposed to when with a few friends.

    With books, I don't know, I guess I've just found it easier to shut the book for another time when it gets a bit too much to take...

    Anyway, just watched 'My name is Khan' and ofcourse I cried. :-)


    --Bharath

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The TamBrahm Lingo

Close encounters with the 3rd kind

And Then There Was Sight...Err...6/6 Sight